ICE 2017 Official Program Book See the Itinerary Planner for the latest technical program schedule

Subscribe now to receive valuable updates, important dates and deadlines from ICE

All fields required
General Info

AAPG’s Honors and Awards programs mark the efforts of dedicated members and industry professionals, who freely share their time and expertise to advance the science of geology, lead technological innovations, inspire professional conduct, and further the goals and objectives of the Association.

The Europe Region Council, in conjunction with AAPG’s Centennial Celebration, established the AAPG Europe Awards to acknowledge the contributions of four outstanding individuals. Winners of the inaugural honors will be recognized during the ICE Opening Ceremony on Sunday afternoon.

AAPG Europe Explorer of the Year

Given in recognition of outstanding contributions to the exploration for energy resources by individuals or teams with emphasis on a recent discovery.

Luca Bertelli, Chief Exploration Officer, Eni Upstream and Technical Services

iconOver the past eight years, Mr. Bertelli has led Eni’s exploration successes with staggering discoveries in Venezuela (Perla), Mozambique (Area 4) and Egypt (Zohr, Nooros). The Zohr field, discovered offshore Egypt in 2015, replaced Leviathan as the Eastern Med’s largest gas field to date.

AAPG Europe Educator of the Year

Given in recognition of outstanding contributions to geological education in the energy sector, including the teaching and counseling of students at university level, and education of the general public.

Reinhard Sachsenhofer, Professor, Leoben University

iconDr. Sachsenhofer is a highly regarded educator in the field of petroleum geology, serving not only aspiring Austrian geoscientists, but Polish, Ukrainian, English and Chinese students as well. In addition, he is well published with an excellent portfolio of research works.

AAPG Europe Energy Geoscience Research Award

Given in recognition of a singular achievement in energy geoscience research.

Brian Horsfield, Professor, GFZ Potsdam and University of Berlin

iconDr. Horsfield has been leading shale gas research in Europe and evaluating gas-in-place and producibility in unconventional hydrocarbon systems in the USA, South Africa, China and North Africa. He has more than thirty five years experience working with the petroleum industry in upstream research and development, beginning with 9 years employment at Conoco and Arco. He is also co‐founder and CEO of GEOS4, a service provider specializing in petroleum compositional and phase predictions for the oil and gas industry.

AAPG Europe Public Service Award

Given in recognition of individual contributions to public service and to encouraging geoscientists to take a more active role in such affairs.

Victor Vega, Exploration New Business Development Manager, Shell Americas

iconMr. Vega’s passion for geoscience and the energy industry extends beyond the workplace. During his tenure as an AAPG Region President, he championed an Earth Science Week initiative, inspiring local volunteers to help grade school students and teachers learn about earth sciences. More than 2000 students were impacted in 2016 alone. Mr. Vega is a founding member of the Pedalazos Foundation, a group that organizes cycling fundraisers to build houses for underprivileged families in Colombia. He also assisted in relief efforts in Armero in 1985 when a volcanic eruption and subsequent landslide killed more than 20,000 people.